Two months to go

November 10, 2012

Image

I unintentionally created this blog exactly two months before I ship off to Europe, Italy more specifically.  Okay, I’m not technically “shipping” off, more like flying off, on a two-stop flight that will bring me to Rome and then to Florence.  Am I scared?  YUP.  Am I excited?  More than you could imagine.  But to insert a cliche inspirational quote, Eleanor Roosevelt once said “Do one thing everyday that scares you.”  She was right, if I don’t scare myself senseless by taking risks and going out of my comfort zone, then life isn’t the adventure I promised myself it would be.

Why Florence?  Well, I am a great deal Italian, so there’s that.  I love pasta.  I love cobblestone.  I REALLY love sweet old men who wear newsboy hats and sell fresh fruit at markets.  When it came down to it, Florence fit the checklist.  Do I speak a lick of Italian?  Nope.  Have I seen “Under The Tuscan Sun” starring Diane Lane?  A million times.  I should be good to go!

In all seriousness, since I have embarked on this study abroad endeavor I have gone back and forth, back and forth on where I would go.  First it was London, but going to school in Boston made me want a little less metropolitan action.  Besides, my boyfriend does a pretty excellent British accent so I’ll check him off as my “be swooned by a foreign boy with a posh accent”.  Then there was Dublin.  Aside from being Italian, I am also Irish, very very Irish.  My grandmother came to the U.S. in her early 20’s from the quaint country and her sassy Irish-ness makes me yearn for Galway and Trinity College and (maybe a sip of) Guinness.  But alas, I realized how damn expensive it is to study abroad in Ireland, and when I become a citizen of the EU, I can go there whenever I please.

I threw some other ideas back and forth (Greece, Scotland, France) but it ultimately came down to Florence, so that’s where you can find me from January until late April.

I’ve known for quite sometime that I would do ANYTHING to study abroad.  What no one told me (and what I’m telling all you future study abroad-ees) is that you have to fight for it.  There is a lot of paperwork involved, there will be times where you’ll want to cry because the lady at the Italian Consulate was rude to you over the phone, and you’ll get so damn tired of looking at you passport picture that your mom decided to have you take sophomore year of high school right after a sweaty soccer practice.  But it’s worth it.  At least that is what everyone is telling me and what I am going to continue to tell myself.  

In advance I’d like to thank the academy… er my parents/boyfriend/friends for being incredibly supportive of me throughout this entire process.  This blog is to document my travels, share pictures, and hopefully inspire others to take that leap into the unknown.

 

Cheers,

Shea xoxo

Leave a Reply

