What a feeling in my soul

August 5, 2010

Dear World,

I have exactly one month until I will be in college.  As of September 5th, I will be a college student, living in Boston, starting a new chapter of my life.  As Hallmark as this all sounds, it’s my reality and I cannot wait.  I’m such a collegiate, ha ha.  To celebrate these last few weeks I thought about doing something like BEDA (blog everyday August) but I know there are some days where I will not be available to blog (ie: my camping trip).  So to make it more realistic and enjoyable I’m just going to be “blogging as much as I can”.  These posts may vary from what I will miss, to what I am buying to my dorm.  What can I say?  I’m a documentor, I like remembering things.

So to celebrate day one I thought I would list the things that I will actually miss about this small Maine town that I live in.

  • I’ll miss the fact that no matter where I go (the grocery store, the gas station, the lake etc.) there was always someone I knew, whether it was a classmate, a parent or a coach.
  • I’ll miss the beautiful trees and lakes that I have been surrounded by my entire life.
  • I’ll miss driving, as crazy as that sounds I really will.  Though I will be happy not to have to drive 40 minutes just to get to a mall or a coldstone…
  • I’ll miss the familiarity of my neighborhood, living next to the crazy old man, running past the psychotic dogs that will cease to stop barking, the kids that begin screaming at 7:00 a.m., the hum of the lawnmowers and the crickets on perfect summer days.
  • I’ll miss sitting out on my lawn, book in hand, feeling the wind as it swims through my hair (poetic, eh?).
  • I’ll miss my best friends that I’ve known since birth, and others I’ve known since our awkward junior high phases.
  • I’ll miss some incredible teachers that made school fun and taught me that a sense of humor is important.
  • I’ll miss my parents more than words can ever describe.
  • I’ll miss my bed, my pets and the beautiuful silent nights that come along with living in the country.

Look at me, acting as if I’ll never come home.  Pshhh.

Sincerely,

Shea

Leave a Reply

