My voice a beacon in the night

November 4, 2009

Dear World,

Where the Wild Things Are was so amazing!  The soundtrack was beautiful, and the whole story brought me back to my childhood.  It was weird at parts, but that’s exactly how it is supposed to be, so I was pleased.

Today  I had a day off which was nice because I successfully slept in until almost 11, something I haven’t done in a while.  I worked on college applications and homework the whole day, so it was productive.  I also got to watch a bit of He’s Just Not That Into You, and do something thinking.

I’m going to start being grateful for the small things again, like breathing, laughing and my cat Merlin.   Lately, my life has not portrayed who I am.  I’ve been a part of people’s drama, worrying about things I know I shouldn’t worry about, and getting caught up in situations I don’t need to be in.  This is not who I am.  I know this.  I am cleansing myself from it all.  I am making myself happy first.  No boys, no fake people, none of that.  I’ve gone my entire life free of this, so I think I can go the rest of my life without it as well.

To start, I stayed in today working on things that need to be done, and tonight, after this, I’m getting off of the computer and just reading until I fall alseep.

First though, here is a list for me to remember:

make yourself happy before anyone (it’s not selfish, it’s healthy)

take time to read that pile of books on your desk that looks lonely

soak in your last year of high school

stop checking you phone, and sometimes just don’t text ‘people’ back

watch a movie that makes you cry soon, you’ve been meaning to and haven’t gotten around to it

enjoy the autumn before it goes

Sincerely,

Shea

Leave a Reply

