Oh Chariot, your golden waves

January 14, 2009

Dear World,
So, I am reading Songs of the Humpback Whale by Jodie Picoult, one of my favorite authors. It is really great (as all of her novels are), but I really want to hurry up and finish it because soon the movie The Reader is coming out with Kate Winslet and I realized that I have the booka nd have never read it! So I really want to read it and then go see it.

I am starting to wonder, as I look a people’s lives, what their dreams were when they were younger. I wonder if they wanted to be scientists and doctors and teachers. I think if them looking back at their younger selves and thinking that they would be where they are now. I just like pondering that thought.

I read this absolutely amazing quote today: “First, I was dying to finish high school and start college.
And then I was dying to finish college and start working.
And then I was dying to marry and have children.
And then I was dying for my children to grow up and get out the house.
And then I was dying to retire.
And now, I am dying…and suddenly I realize I forgot to live.”

Isn’t it amazing? It just makes you appreciate things in the moment. I need to do more of that.

Sincerely,
Shea

love1

Leave a Reply

